Awards Committee Report to the 2021 AGM

Awards committee membership

Matthew Schofield (Convenor) Matthew Parry (ex officio NZSA President) Jennifer Brown Harold Henderson

2021 NZSA Awards

A call for nominations was sent out to members earlier this year. Nominations were received and winners (for two awards) will be announced later in the AGM. Due to some conflicts of interest, Vanessa Cave assisted with some of the prize judging.

Student Travel Awards

Support was given to students presenting virtually at the ANZSC conference. As no travel was undertaken, the NZSA supported students through payment of the registration fee of the conference.

Due to the cancellation of the ANZSC conference, no student travel awards were distributed.

Industry Award

A small subcommittee (Matthew Schofield, Vanessa Cave, Lisa Chen, Gary Dunnet, Lisa Thomasen) have developed criteria for a new NZSA prize targeted at members working in industry. The award is entitled the 'NZSA Jean Thompson Award' and the criteria are available on a separate document.

Thanks to the Awards Committee

The Convenor thanks the Awards Committee members for their work in 2021.

Matthew Schofield 29 November 2021