

2021 Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Statistical Association

12pm Wednesday 1 December 2021

Online via Zoom

1) Apologies: Graham Wood, Caleb Lau, Shirley Wu, Poppy Miller

Accepted

In attendance: See list of attendees on the last page

2) Minutes of the 2020 AGM:

Move to be accepted. Carried

3) Matters Arising

None.

- 4) Reports (to be made available at: <u>http://stats.org.nz/archive</u>)
 - a. President's Annual Report (Matt Parry)

Report received

- Highlights: ANZSC 2021 virtual conference (thanks to local organisers Beatrix Jones and Daniel Gerhard); Education Committee had a really busy year; Ihaka lecture screenings run by S&ECS
- Special thanks: Executive Committee, especially Daniel Gerhard (Treasurer); Nokuthaba
 Sibanda (Secretary) and former presidents; James Curran and Simon Urbanek for
 2021 Unconference (cancelled due to Covid); Lisa Thomasen stepping down from
 Students & Early Career Network.
- b. Financial Report (Daniel Gerhard)

Report received

In good financial standing. Account summary shared. Total \$260,153 (Cheque account: \$147,401; Term deposit: \$112,752). Limited expenditure this year due to Covid restrictions limiting events.

c. Membership (Harold Henderson)

Report received

As of March 31, 465 members, an increase of 58 from last year. It was noted that requirements for member data we collect may change due to changes in Charities Act.



d. ANZJS (Matthew Schofield, Matthew Parry; Martin Hazelton)

Non-Editorial Management report received

Editorial report received

Festschrift for Adrian Baddeley appeared as first issue of 2021 ANZJS.

e. Awards Committee (Matthew Schofield)

Report received

New Industry award created entitled 'NZSA Jean Thompson Award' named in

honour of Jean Thompson's contributions to Statistics in Industry.

f. Education and Science Fairs (Mike Camden, Alasdair Noble)

Education report received

AGM asked to:

- 1. Comment on priorities and ongoing activities for 2022 (listed in report).
- 2. Endorse proposed Steering Group for 2022, who are
 - o Alasdair Noble (AgResearch) (convenor and link with NZSA Executive)
 - Mike Camden (secretary)
 - Anna Fergusson (University of Auckland)
 - o Chris Wild (University of Auckland)
 - Mark Hooper (St Peter's Cambridge) (meetings scribe)
 - Maxine Pfannkuch (University of Auckland)
 - Michelle Dalrymple (Cashmere High School)
 - Pip Arnold (Karekare Education).

Science Fairs report received

g. Student and Early Career Statisticians (Lisa Thomasen)

Report received

h. ANZSC 2021 (Beatrix Jones)

Report received SSA worked hard to treat NZSA as partners. Conference went well.

i. R User Groups (Shirley Wu)

Report received

j. Local Groups

Wellington Statistics Group (John Haywood) Report received



k. Website (Heather Jenkins) Report received

Confirmation still needed about public access to new NZSA website hosted by Simon Urbanek at University of Auckland.

 Corporate Members & Continuing Professional Development (Richard Penny) *Verbal report* Requested input on what would encourage more organisations to become corporate members to join NZSA. Analytics Forum more successful in getting participation from corporate organisations. Richard to look further into different options.

Matt Parry: Propose to accept all reports; endorse Education Committee Steering Group

and Priorities; thanks to Lisa Thomasen for her S&ECS work.

Carried

Matt Parry: Proposal to accept and support NZSA Jean Thompson award for Industrial

Statistics.

Carried

James Curran: Proposal to allow self-nomination for Worsley and Littlejohn awards -

already allowed in the Jean Thompson award, but not for Campbell award.

Carried

5) Awards

The 2021 NZSA award winners were

- Worsley award Charlotte Jones-Todd, University of Auckland
- Littlejohn award Russell Millar, University of Auckland

6) Setting of Annual Subscription

Discussion resulted in a proposal (Matt Parry) to keep subscriptions unchanged at \$80 for ordinary members, free for student members, \$40 for retired members. Seconded: Harold Henderson. Executive Committee to consider ways of spending money as balance keeps growing.

Carried

NZ

7) Election of Officers

a. Executive committee nominations:

President: Matt Parry nominated by Lisa Thomasen; seconded by Harold

Henderson

Secretary: Nokuthaba Sibanda nominated by Matt Parry; seconded by Harold

Henderson

Treasurer: Daniel Gerhard nominated by Matt Parry; seconded by Harold

Henderson

Carried

Cooperate representative: Richard Penny

Carried

- Endorsement of ex-officio members (see <u>https://www.stats.org.nz/executive-committee/</u> for the current list). Potential new members: Jie Kang and Rory Ellis (will share role S &ECS representative) to be confirmed by the Executive Committee.
 Carried
- 8) **Date of 2022 AGM** James Curran proposed date of 22 November.

9) Other Business

- a. Agreement with Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute
 - Report received

Matt Parry: Proposal to accept and ratify agreement.

Carried

- b. Proposed budget line for S&ECS network annual budget of \$2500 consisting of:
 - \$800 for drinks & nibbles at Ihaka screening events
 - \$1000 for hosting a networking event as part of the NZSA conference
 - \$700 for other expenses / events throughout the year

Proposed: Matt Parry

Seconded: Harold Henderson

Carried

c. Proposal to keep Education Committee budget at \$5000 annually to be reviewed in 2 years.

Proposed: Matt Parry *Seconded*: Gary Dunnet *Carried*

Closed at 1.30pm



List of attendees

	First name	Surname	Institution	Notes
1	Alasdair	Noble	AgResearch	
2	Amy	Renelle	The University of Auckland	
3	Beatrix	Jones	University of Auckland	
4	Charlotte	Jones-Todd	University of Auckland	
5	Chris	Triggs	University of Auckland	
6	Daniel	Gerhard	University of Canterbury	
7	David	Chan	University of Auckland	
8	Elena	Moltchanova	University of Cantebury	
9	Gary	Dunnet	Statistics NZ	
10	Harold	Henderson	AgResearch	
11	Heather	Jenkins	Plant & Food Research	
12	llze	Ziedins	University of Auckland	
13	James	Curran	University of Auckland	
14	Jean	Thompson		
15	Jennifer	Brown	University of Canterbury	
16	Jie	Kang	University of Otago	
17	John	Haywood	Victoria University of Wellington	
18	June	Atkinson	University of Otago	
19	Len	Cook	VUW IGPS	
20	Lisa	Thomasen	Fonterra	
21	Louise	McMillan	Victoria University of Wellington	
22	Marie	Fitch	University of Auckland	until 12:27pm
23	Marnet	Africa		
24	Martin	Hazelton	University of Otago	
25	Matthew	Parry	University of Otago	
26	Matthew	Schofield	University of Otago	
27	Mike	Camden		
28	Nathanael	Lucas	Canterbury District Health Board	
29	Nokuthaba	Sibanda	Victoria University of Wellington	
30	Rachel	Fewster	University of Auckland	
31	Richard	Arnold	Victoria University of Wellington	
32	Richard	Penny	Statistics NZ	
33	Roy	Costilla		
34	Shepi	Sharif		
35	Sophie	Jones	University of Auckland	
36	Tim	Jowett	Uiniversity of Otago	
37	Ting	Wang	University of Otago	
38	Tom	Elliott	Victoria University of Wellington	
39	Vanessa	Cave	AgResearch	
40	Xun	Xiao		