

2022 Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Statistical Association

12:30pm Tuesday 22 November 2022

Venue: MLT2/303-102, Maths & Physics Building, University of Auckland, 38 Princes St, Auckland and online via Zoom

Apologies: Jean Thompson, Jennifer Wilcock, Tracey Savage

Accepted

In attendance: See <u>list of attendees</u> on the last page.

1) Minutes of the 2021 AGM:

Move to be accepted. Carried

2) Matters Arising

None.

- 3) Reports (available at: https://www.stats.org.nz/archive/)
 - a. President's Annual Report (Matt Parry)
 Report received

Highlights: Establishment of mentoring programme by Lisa Thomasen; Dr Kenneth Dodds (NZSA member), was awarded the Jones Medal by Royal Society Te Apārangi for his work developing and applying statistical methods for genetic data analysis. Thanks to Harold Henderson for his work for the Association.

b. Financial Report (Daniel Gerhard)

Report received

Funds mainly spent on Science Fairs, Ihaka Lecture Series, sponsorship of joint SSA-NZSA conference, and covered costs for new banners initiated by Jie Kang. There will be several banners housed at different locations across the country.

c. Membership (Harold Henderson)

Report received

Association continues to grow, now over 500 members. Credit card facilities for online payment now available. Payment by bank transfer saves the Association 5% on each subscription.

d. ANZJS (Martin Hazelton) Editorial report received



e. Awards Committee (Matthew Schofield)

Report received

Jean Thompson award to be awarded for the first time this year.

f. Education and Science Fairs

Education report received (Mike Camden)

AGM asked to:

- 1. Comment on priorities and ongoing activities for 2023 (listed in report). Priority 3 is new the role of Probability in curriculum has never been resolved.
- 2. Endorse proposed Steering Group for 2022, who are
 - Alasdair Noble (AgResearch) (convenor and link with NZSA Executive)
 - Mike Camden (secretary)
 - Anna Fergusson (University of Auckland)
 - Chris Wild (University of Auckland)
 - Mark Hooper (Otago Boys College) (meetings scribe)
 - Maxine Pfannkuch (University of Auckland)
 - o Michelle Dalrymple (Cashmere High School)
 - o Pip Arnold (Karekare Education).

Tim Marchant: AMSI happy to be consulted as Australia has recently undergone a curriculum refresh.

Science Fairs report received (Alasdair Noble)

- g. Student and Early Career Statisticians (Jie Kang & Rory Ellis) Report received
- h. Mentoring report (Lisa Thomasen)

Report received

Mentoring program has been quite successful with positive outcomes and feedback for those involved. Thanks to those who participated and looking for participants for the next round.

i. Website (Heather Jenkins)

Report received.

Matt Parry: Thanks to Heather and Simon Urbanek for website transition.

Newsletter (Ben Stevenson)

Report received

New issue due in February – contributions of content welcome.

k. R User Groups (Shirley Wu)

Report received

Wellington Statistics Group (John Haywood)
 Report received



m. Corporate Members (Richard Penny) Report received

AGM asked to consider three options presented in the report for the future of corporate membership. Item discussed further under "Other Business".

Motion:

Matt Parry: Propose to accept all reports and to endorse Education Committee Steering Group and Priorities for 2023.

Carried

4) Setting of Annual Subscription

Proposal (Matt Parry) to keep subscriptions unchanged at \$80 for ordinary members, free for student members, \$40 for retired members. Seconded: Harold Henderson. *Carried*

5) Election of Officers

a. Executive committee nominations:

President: Beatrix Jones nominated by Matt Parry; seconded by Vanessa Cave.

Carried

Secretary: Nokuthaba Sibanda nominated by Matt Parry; seconded by Harold

Henderson *Carried*

Treasurer: Daniel Gerhard nominated by Matt Parry; seconded by John Haywood

Carried

Corporate representative: Richard Penny nominated by Gary Dunnett. Seconded.

Carried

- Endorsement of remaining committee members (see https://www.stats.org.nz/executive-committee/ for the current list).
 Carried
- 6) **Date of 2023 AGM** Matt Parry proposed date of 21 November. Conference will now go back to rotating around different centres. Date and venue of 2023 conference to be decided by the Executive Committee.

7) Other Business

a. Corporate membership

Discussion points:

- Communicate with corporate organisations to find out how NZSA can contribute in a useful way.
- Develop a value proposition for corporate members
- Ideal to give clearer direction to the Executive about possible ways of expanding corporate membership



- Since NZSA balance is healthy, could some of the money be used to fund a working group on corporate membership?
- Pre-conference workshops could be attractive for corporate members.
- Ideal to consider how other associations around the world run their corporate memberships.

Motion:

Thomas Lumley: It is the sense of the meeting that the executive should develop a plan to expand corporate memberships and consider how they fit into the Association's strategy and mission going forward.

Seconded: Matt Parry

Closed at 1.30pm



List of attendees

First name	Surname	Institution
Richard	Arnold	Victoria University of Wellington
Azam	Asanjarani	University of Auckland
June	Atkinson	University of Otago
Richard	Barker	University of Otago
Arijit	Bhattacharjee	University of Canterbury
Stephanie	Budgett	University of Auckland
Mike	Camden	Stats NZ
Claire	Cameron	University of Otago
Vanessa	Cave	Cave Statistics Consulting
David	Chan	University of Auckland
Ellen	Cieraad	
		Department of Conservation
Len	Cook	VUW (IGPS)
James	Curran	University of Auckland
Tilman	Davies	University of Otago
Ken	Dodds	AgResearch
Bradley	Drayton	Waipapa Taumata Rau
Fabian	Dunker	University of Canterbury
Gary	Dunnet	Stats NZ
Marie	Fitch	University of Auckland
Sharleen	Forbes	Stated Consultancy
Vinie	Galvin	Stats NZ
Han	Gan	University of Waikato
Daniel	Gerhard	University of Canterbury
Jesse	Goodman	University of Auckland
John	Harraway	University of Otago
John	Haywood	Victoria University of Wellington
Martin	Hazelton	University of Otago
Harold	Henderson	AgResearch
Heather	Jenkins	Plant & Food Research
Linley	Jesson	Plant & Food Research
Beatrix	Jones	University of Auckland
Chaitanya	Joshi	University of Auckland
Tim 	Jowett	University of Otago
Jie 	Kang	Beef & Lamb NZ
Eileen	Li	University of Auckland
Jason	Li	University of Auckland
Thomas	Lumley	University of Auckland
Tim	Marchant	AMSI
Jonathan	Marshall	Massey University
Andrew	Martin	Stats NZ
Esther Renate	Meenken Meyer	AgResearch University of Auckland
	-	
First name	Surname	Institution

Victor	Miranda	AUT
Elena	Moltchanova	University of Canterbury
Peter	Mullins	University of Auckland
Alasdair	Noble	AgResearch
Matt	Parry	University of Otago
Anne	Patel	University of Auckland
Richard	Penny	Stats NZ
Amy	Renelle	University of Auckland
Matthew	Schofield	University of Otago
Sepi	Sharif	University of Otago
Nokuthaba	Sibanda	Victoria University of Wellington
Ben	Stevenson	University of Auckland
Lisa	Thomasen	Fonterra
Lars	Thomsen	University of Auckland
Chris	Triggs	University of Auckland
Simon	Urbanek	University of Auckland
lan	Westbrooke	Department of Conservation
Mark	Wohlers	Plant & Food Research
Shirley	Wu	Harmonic Analytics
Xun	Xiao	University of Otago
Ilze	Ziedins	University of Auckland