2018 Joint NZSA and ORSNZ Conference

Tuesday 27th November – Friday 30th November 2018

Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand


The New Zealand Statistical Association (NZSA) and the Operations Research Society of New Zealand (ORSNZ) are holding a joint conference hosted by Massey University at their Manawatu campus in 2018. This conference incorporates both the 69th Annual NZSA Conference and the 52nd annual ORSNZ Conference.

The conference presentations and other events will be held from Tuesday 27th November to Friday 30th November 2018. You should note that we have left a lot of time on the start and end  days to allow the widest range of travel options for conference attendees.



1st August 2018: Registration/abstracts open

1st October 2018: Abstract submission closes

1st November 2018: Registration closes (for anyone wishing to present their work) This should give us plenty of time to manage and (hopefully) announce the full programme.


The conference will be held at Massey’s Manawatu campus, Palmerston North.  The conference is hosted by the Institute of Fundamental Sciences.


Tuesday 27 November
12:00 noon Registration opens
2:00 pm Formal Welcome and Conference Opening
2:10 to 5.20 pm Sessions start
Statistics / Mathematics Association Teachers Day
5:30 to 7:00pm Informal social gathering on campus
Wednesday 28 November
9:00 to 5:10 pm



AGM: AgHort Lecture Block, AH3

Thursday 29 November
9:00 to 5:10 pm Sessions
6.30 pm Conference Dinner
Friday 30 November
10:00 am Sessions start
1:00 pm Conference closes – after discussion panel.


We will add detail to this schedule as we confirm keynote speakers and other events.



We are very pleased to advise the following plenary speakers have been confirmed:

We will advise the additional keynote speakers once they have been confirmed.

The conference webpage can be reached via the short URL: http://www.massey.ac.nz/nzsa2018

We are adding useful links to that page all the time, including accommodation options.

We look forward to seeing you all in November.

Jonathan Godfrey and Rina Parry

Co-chairs: Conference Organising Committee