NZSA Honours

The NZSA recognizes contributions to the New Zealand statistical community through the Campbell, Littlejohn and Worsley awards, and Life Membership of the Association. The NZSA hosts distinguished overseas statisticians as Visiting Lecturers. The Executive has been considering a proposal to institute the honour of a Fellowship of the NZSA. 

Campbell Award – The purpose of the award is to promote statistics within NZ and to recognise an individual’s contribution to the promotion and development of statistics.

Littlejohn Research Award  – The purpose of the award is to recognise excellence in research, based on publications during the five calendar years preceding the date of the award.

Worsley Early Career Award – The purpose of the award is to recognise outstanding recent published research from a New Zealand statistician in the early stages of their career.

Life Membership – Honorary Life Membership honours persons with a long and distinguished record of service to the Association.

Visiting Lecturer  – The New Zealand Statistical Association coordinates and provides some financial support for a tour of New Zealand universities by a distinguished overseas statistician.

RSNZ Awards

The Academy Council of the Royal Society of New Zealand administers a suite of medals and awards, for some of which members of the NZSA will be eligible. Electronic copies of the information and application forms are available from; copies are also available on the Society’s website. Among past recipients of RSNZ awards are:

Professor Al Rae1973Fellow of the RSNZ
Professor Peter Whittle1981Honorary Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor David Vere-Jones1982Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Alastair Scott1990Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Bryan Manly1994Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor George Seber1997Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Bruce Weir1998Honorary Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Shayle Searle1999Honorary Fellow of the RSNZ
Professor David Vere-Jones1999Rutherford Medal (New Zealand Science and Technology Gold Medal)
Professor Jeffrey Hunter2003New Zealand Science and Technology Bronze Medal
Len Cook2005Companion of the RSNZ
Professor Chris Wild2007Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Mick Roberts2008Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Professor Keith Worsley2008Honorary Fellow of the RSNZ
Ross Ihaka2008Pickering MedalUA News
Professor Estate Khmaladze2010Fellow of the RSNZRSNZ
Emeritus Professor David Vere-Jones2014 Jones MedalRSNZ
Alastair Scott2016Jones MedalRSNZ

International and National Recognition of NZSA Members

NZSA members, resident in New Zealand or overseas, have received recognition in various forms for their contributions to statistics. The list below is not exhaustive – please notify the webmaster of any additions or corrections.

Professor Al Rae1977McMeekan Award; New Zealand Society of Animal Productioncitation
Professor Peter Whittle1978Fellow of the Royal Societybiography
Professor David Vere-Jones1995Henri Willem Methorst Medal; ISI
Professor Bruce Weir2003O. Max Gardner Award; U North CarolinaNCSU report
Professor George Seber1999Hector Medal (in Mathematical and Information Sciences)RSNZ
Professor Shayle Searle2003Honorary Doctorate; Victoria University of Wellington
Sheila Williams2004D.Sc.; University of Otagonewsletter 60
Len Cook2005Commander of the British Empirereport
Professor Jeffrey Hunter2005D.Sc.; Massey Universitynewsletter 61
Professor Alastair Scott2006Waksberg Award; American Statistical Association and the Statistical Society of Canadanewsletter 64
Ken Dodds2007McMeekan Award; New Zealand Society of Animal Production
Professor Chris Wild2009Fellow of the American Statistical Association
Ross Ihaka and Robert Gentleman2010Statistical Computing and Graphics Awardreport
Paul Murrell2010Fellow of the American Statistical Association
Professor Estate Khmaladze2011Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics
Professor Thomas Lumley2012Fellow of the American Statistical Associationreport

Conferences in Honour of NZSA Members

Professor David Vere-Jones2001Symposium, Victoria University of Wellingtonreport (News 012, page 4)
Professor Alastair Scott2004Complex sampling, retrospective sampling and missing data (IASS Satellite Meeting, University of Auckland)report
Professor John Deely2007University of Canterburyreport
Professor Chin-Diew Lai2010International Conference on Statistical Methodologies and Related Topics in conjunction with NZSA Annual Conference (Massey University)link