Campbell Award

2022 Recipient: Len Cook

Len has a long career in public service, both in New Zealand and abroad.  His roles have included Government Statistician of New Zealand, National Statistician and Director of the Office for National Statistics, United Kingdom, Registrar General for England and Wales, and Families Commissioner in New Zealand.  He was elected as a Companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand in 2005, and was made a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2005.

Len’s interests include social policy, demography, statistical methodology and the application of information technology in statistical systems. He is interested in the promotion of research methodology in public policy analysis and decision-making with past interests particularly in retirement provision and taxation policies.  Len has been influential in advocating for the use of data in a wide range of policy contexts. From his days as a senior executive at Statistics New Zealand to his active contributions, he is one of New Zealand’s most visible and respected statisticians.

The purpose of the award is to promote statistics within NZ and to recognise an individual’s sustained contribution to the promotion and development of statistics.

Next Round

  • Next round opens: TBC
  • Next round closes: TBC

Nominations should be sent to the Convenor of the NZSA Awards Committee, by email (TBC).

Award Details

The criteria for the award are:

i) publication of an exceptional body of original statistical research undertaken within NZ; or,

ii) a prolonged and outstanding contribution to statistical education; or,

iii) playing a key role in consulting on major, innovative research projects that has direct relevance to NZ; or,

iv) making a leading contribution to the promotion of statistics within NZ over a sustained period.

  • The award is known as the NZSA Campbell Award.
  • One award will be given annually, at the NZSA annual dinner in conjunction with the annual conference. In exceptional circumstances, more than one award may be given in a year.
  • An award may not necessarily be given out each year.
  • Nominations can be made by individuals or groups of individuals. Nominators may be non-NZSA members. Nominations will include a statement of support from the nominator and may include names of suitable referees.
  • The award may only be given to fully paid up members of the NZSA. All membership categories are eligible.
  • Normally the award will only be given to a member once in their lifetime.
  • An awards convenor will be selected from the current executive who will oversee the process of calling for nominations. The executive will elect an awards panel consisting of the awards convenor and no fewer than two other fully paid up members of the NZSA. The panel will decide on that year’s recipient. The panel may call for any additional information from the nominators.
  • The awards panel will use suitable measures for each of the four criteria. These may include: for research, the publication record, and the originality, applicability, impact of the research; for contribution to statistical education, development of innovative teaching practices and curricula, development within other subjects, and development of links with other practices; for consulting, the project size, profile, application in a new area, rigour, relevance to solving real problems; and in promotion, the appropriate use of statistics and demonstrating the relevance of statistics. In all cases a record of achievement over an extended period is expected.

As the Campbell Award is usually presented at the Conference dinner, the deadline for nominations will usually be late in September.  A call for nominations will be sent to all NZSA members about two months prior to that. To make a nomination, please contact the Convenor of the Awards Committee. The Awardee is presented with a plaque and a certificate, and is a guest of the presentation event.

Recipients of the NZSA Campbell Award are:
2022Len Cook
2020Chris Triggs
2018Rachel Fewster
2017Jennifer Brown
2016Mike Camden
2015Maxine Pfannkuch
2014Shirley Pledger
2013John Harraway
2012Chris Wild
2011Roger LittlejohnNewsletter 74, March 2012
2011Alastair ScottNewsletter 74, March 2012
2010Stephen HaslettNewsletter 72, October 2010
2009David Vere-JonesNewsletter 70, September 2009
2008Sharleen ForbesNewsletter 68, September 2008
2006Jeffrey HunterNewsletter 64, September 2006
2003Harold HendersonNewsletter 58, September 2003
2001Murray JorgensenNewsletter 55, April 2002
1999Stan Roberts